Review: Plus White 5 Minute Whitening System

How you present yourself is extremely important in the real world.  Whether we like it or not, appearance DOES matter.  Society is just shallow like that.  Sure, you’re entitled to do whatever you want to do and dress however you would like, but the underlying rule is that you must be clean and presentable majority of the time.  So if you’re a basketball-shorts-and-a-t-shirt kind of person, you can’t be yourself and show up to an interview in your usual attire.  Automatically you’re out of your comfort zone, and you feel fake.  People tell you to “be yourself” in this kind of situation, but if you can’t dress like yourself, how are you expected to “be yourself?”

In school, or even just in life, we have to present things all the time. You have to make sure you look presentable during these times.  A white smile can help enhance the presentation of yourself, or whatever it is you or presenting.  A white smile will get your audience to listen to you.  No one wants to be looking at nasty yellow teeth, so get those teeth white and bright!

Today I will be reviewing a drugstore teeth whitening system.  I bought this at Walmart for around $6, but I know you can also pick it up at Walgreens or CVS.  Check your nearest drugstore!

This set contains 3 products.  The one on the left is supposed to help remove tartar so that the whitening gel can do its thing most effectively.  It also comes with a mouth tray, but I don’t really recommend this.  I recommend bleaching trays, but if you don’t have that it will do.  This claims to whiten your teeth in 5 minutes on the front of the bottle, but it fine print it says that it takes 5 minutes for the product to activate to start penetrating your teeth.  I used this product for about a week and a half, every other day.  It did whiten my teeth, but it didn’t whiten them fast enough.

Image

During this time, I was preparing for veneers, so it was unnecessary to whiten those teeth.  The ones I circled, I did not apply this product on.  As you can see, those two are more of a yellow-brown kind of color, whereas the teeth I did apply this product to(the rest of the mouth) are significantly lighter than my two lateral incisors.  This was after a week and a half of application, with use every other day.  There are results, but the results weren’t dramatic enough for me. So I took other whitening measures.  Perhaps if I did use this product continuously, it would have gotten to my desired tooth shade, but I didn’t have the patience for it. The product does work as you can see, but don’t expect your teeth to get dramatically different instantaneously like professional teeth whitening does.

My application technique for this product was to first follow the directions on the tartar control bottle.  I would then take a Q-tip and wipe my teeth dry.  With another Q-tip, I would apply the gel onto the surfaces of my teeth, and then bite down into my tray.  I would wait for 10-20 minutes.  Prepare to salivate A LOT. Follow up with brushing your teeth with toothpaste.

The taste of the tartar control rinse is like Listerine mouthwash.  The taste of the gel itself tastes like gel with a slight minty taste.   It’s not gross, but it’s not pleasant either.  It also did not make my teeth sensitive at all.

Love it or leave it? For me, this product is a 7/10 stars. Now, I use this product for touching up my teeth.  A day before a special event, I will whiten my teeth with this and it will remove all surface stains I have accumulated.  I do recommend this product because it does work; but do not have high expectations for it because it won’t work miracles.

Leave a Reply

