Spot the Simulated Smile

“That one may smile, and smile, and be a villain”

I’ve noticed that I’m pretty much drawn towards any quote with the word “smile” in it.  It’s one of my favorite words. So when I read this quote in Shakespeare’s Hamlet, I knew I was going to add this particular quote into my mental vault of quotes to remember.  It’s not exactly the most positive quote, but rather a street-smart type of quote I thought I should keep in the back of my head because although I’d like to believe that the world is a genuinely good place to live with good, nice people, that’s just not how it is. There are people out there who are going to act one way around you, and then turn around only to act a completely different way around other people.  Basically, you never know who your real friends are. So, I think it’s important to know how to read people.  Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I’m pretty good at deciphering people’s feelings based on their facial expression and body language.  I may not be intelligent regarding books, but I’d consider myself pretty intelligent emotionally. My confidence in the ability to read people was further strengthened when I took this survey, and I highly encourage you to take this survey yourself! Let me warn you, it may seem creepy with the first few people, but you’ll quickly get over it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/mind/surveys/smiles/

How well did you do? I’m proud to say I only missed one, the last one! Now, I know I’m no expert but you have to admit, that’s pretty good.  To be honest, I could have gotten that last one right, I just changed my mind last minute! Anyways, if you’re not the best at reading facial expressions, that survey must have been really hard for you.  A smile looked like a smile- they all looked the same.  According to several readings I have done, this means your outlook on life is more on the pessimistic side. Optimistic people tend to be more able to detect a fake smile.  For me, it was easy because I smile all the time, unconsciously. You can ask my coaches, my teammates, my family, anyone I’m close to-  you can even ask certain acquaintances! They ask me, “why are you so smile-y all the time?” in a hard-to-believe-this-girl-must-be-on-something kind of tone. Now how is a girl supposed to reply to this? Usually I just say thank you and smile even bigger. Anyways, I know what a real smile is supposed to look like because it’s the look I’m almost always wearing.  I’m also pretty optimistic so that might’ve helped my results as well.

It’s important to know how to read smiles.  Especially if you’re occupation has to deal with other people, you have to be able to read them, and cater their needs so as to make their experience as pleasant as possible. It’s important to surround yourself with people with real, genuine smiles, because THESE are the smiles that are contagious and will leave a more positive impact on your life. So, I’ve put together a little guide to help you if you’re having trouble with this.

1. Fake smiles tend to go more outwards and down than upwards.

realfake1

2. Real smiles tend to have a more crinkled eye.

realfake2

3. Real smiles usually have more prominent cheeks.

realfake3

Those are some of the things I look for when distinguishing between smiles.  In addition, you can also look at a person’s eyes, there’s no way I can describe how to read eyes, you kind of just know.

I think reading people is just as important as knowing how to read a book.   After all, it’s the people skills that you need to be successful in life, not just knowing the books!

Leave a Reply

