OHWJ #3: The Readiness is ALL

“The readiness is all.” – Hamlet

A few days ago, I re-watched a film called 30 for 30: The Guru of Go from ESPN which follows the controversies surrounding basketball coach Paul Westhead.  I’ll just cut to the chase, the film was worth a watch.  If you’re a coach, I definitely recommend you show this to your team.  Trust me, they’ll appreciate the fact that you don’t make them undergo this type of torture. Actually, scratch that, maybe you shouldn’t watch this at all, I wouldn’t want you finding new techniques to make their lives miserable.  Basically, this movie illustrates ideas such as perseverance, the ideas of team/family, hard work, dedication, and many more ideas. In short, it’s a great movie to show -but isn’t limited to- teams.  I remember my first time watching it, I was actually on a basketball team, and I was really inspired to work hard.  Two years later, I am re-inspired to work hard once again, but this time, my world isn’t limited to the gym, I’ve taken a new interest in… you guessed it, teeth! I’m motivated to keep my teeth clean so as to keep my teeth for as long as possible.  I’m also motivated to one day become an orthodontist.

In the movie, there was a quote that stood out to me, the title of the post, and the four words in quotations I put in the beginning of the post.  This stood out to me because one of my English teachers’ slogans on his blog is “The readiness is all.”  Now, there’s probably some deep meaning I should be discussing, like how you should always be ready because you never know what’s coming, and to an extent, I am going to talk about that.  But what I’m going to be focusing on is probably not what you’re expecting… TEETH! The readiness is all… I interpreted this as “the readiness OF YOUR TEETH” is all.  You never know when there will be a “kodak moment” or you never know when you might bump into someone new.  Would you want to leave a bad impression?  Do you want corn-looking teeth to be captured forever? No, of course not! You want your teeth white and right! You probably just rolled your eyes.  Why does this girl keep talking about teeth? Well, teeth are important!  I think that’s why a job in the dental field is my calling.  I’m so obsessed with all things teeth related I’m on the verge of being diagnosed as crazy. Anyways, as I was saying before I rudely interrupted myself, teeth are very, very important.  Here are some of the roles of your teeth:

  • Masticating. Don’t you love to eat? How are you supposed to enjoy that meal of yours without the help of your teeth?  What are you going to do, swallow your meal whole? Can you imagine having to liquefy ALL your meals? Steak-and-potato flavored smoothies… Yum…
  • Speech.  Now imagine saying “speech” without your teeth.   We’d sound like animals, that’s what would happen.  Have you ever played the game where in a group of people, you have to talk with your lips covering your teeth, and whoever would reveal their teeth would lose? Well if you haven’t, you should! It’s a hilarious game to play.  Anyways, do you know how ridiculously annoying we would sound if we had to go around sounding like that all the time?
  • Appearance. One of the first things people notice in others is a person’s smile. This may sound shallow, but a healthy looking mouth will leave a better impression than a nasty, crusty looking mouth.  So when you’re looking for that significant other, do you really want to be looking at nasty discrepancies in the mouth? Do you want to kiss that mouth with decay?

Paul Westhead ran the system.  Well so do I- an oral care system, that is. Here are important steps that you SHOULD NOT miss.

1.  Brush your teeth at least TWICE a day for TWO minutes.  Make sure you use a SOFT BRISTLED brush, anything else will be too harsh.

2. Floss at least ONCE a day.  Brushing alone is not enough to clean out the interproximal spaces of your teeth.  Yeah, your surfaces may be clean, but your teeth can be decaying where only flossing can reach at this VERY moment.

3. Brush your TONGUE and ROOF OF YOUR MOUTH. Your tongue can be harboring bacteria that can eventually lead to teeth decay.  A dirty tongue also leads to stinky breath, so if you don’t want to be killing birds with that stinky breath of yours… be sure to brush the tongue! Same goes for the roof of your mouth.

4.  Visit your dentist at least TWICE a year.

And a few of my personal recommendations:

  • Use an electronic toothbrush.  Mine has a preset timer of two minutes, so it ensures I brush for the perfect amount of time every use.
  • Use a non-alcoholic mouthwash after you brush.  I use a whitening one to maintain a whiter smile.
  • Replace your toothbrush regularly, every three months is how often I change mine.
  • Wait at least 45 minutes after you eat or drink something acidic, as this can actually erode your teeth if done immediately after.

This is the basis of maintaining a CLEAN mouth.  In the future, I plan to elaborate and expand it to how to maintain a WHITE smile.  Until next time, au revoir!

Leave a Reply

