OHWJ #1: Teeth Transformation

For those of you who don’t know, I’m starting a segment called Oral Hygiene with Jolene in hopes of promoting better oral care. However, I shortened it to OHWJ so that the title wouldn’t look so cluttered.

Sometimes it only takes one little thing to make a difference in someone’s day, or even life.  You don’t have to go out and organize some charity event to feel good about yourself. Something as small as giving “free hugs” could completely alter someone’s attitude for the rest of the day. Therefore, I think we should all just smile all the time. I think smiles are contagious. If I am smiling, then other people can’t help but smile, and this causes a chain reaction.  When someone is smiling they lighten up the room and can change the moods of others.  One little smile can make a huge difference.  As Mother Teresa once said, “Every time you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.” FEED THE NEED. If the need is to just help someone make it through the day, a smile can be all the need to know “it gets better.”

Personally, I think the smile is the most beautiful thing anyone could ever wear.  Even if you have ugly teeth, who cares! SMILE. I truly, honestly believe that a happy person, is a beautiful person, regardless of the other physical features.  I know of these two twins, one looks sad and gloomy and the other looks more happy and charismatic.  Of these two, who do you think I think is prettier? Why the one wearing the smile, of course! I guess what I’m trying to say is, you’re smile is not something you should hide, and you should take care of them!

Basically, Oral Hygiene with Jolene is sharing my knowledge of teeth to you! Currently enrolled in a dental assisting class, my information will be up-to-date. Teeth are very, very, very important to me so I stress oral hygiene to my friends ALL the time. I’m always on the lookout for new good products for teeth so on Oral Hygiene with Jolene, I will share what works for me and what I recommend and swear by. So let’s kick off this segment by showing you all my teeth transformation. The transformation truly awes me. Brace yourselves!

image

Yuck! These pictures aren’t the greatest because camera quality back then wasn’t as great as it is now. But basically, this is a photo after all my baby teeth had fallen off and succedaneous teeth had grown in, hence the start of yellowing of teeth. This is also before I had braces. I had buck teeth, and to top it all off, I had a gap between my buck teeth. I was a beaver.

image

Double yuck! My teeth look like I brushed them with mustard! To be honest, I really liked braces.  I don’t think they’re ugly, or something to be ashamed of. I think they add life and color to your mouth. Anyways, my teeth were evidently yellow, and this was only two years ago! It’s AMAZING to me how much teeth can change and what a huge difference it makes. My teeth are obviously straighter, and I no longer have a huge, obvious gap between my teeth. Hooray! No more picking out leftover salad from between…

image

Last year around this time, this was how my teeth looked.  It’s a bit more white, but still yellow. This was before I got my veneers(fake teeth), so that’s why my lateral incisors (two teeth next to my big central teeth) are so tiny and small.  I was unsatisfied with how my teeth looked so that is why I decided to get porcelain veneers. In the future, I will probably do a detailed post about veneers.  They’re pricey, but I think it’s well worth it.

image

And last but not least, how my teeth look now! Quite a transformation, right? I understand that my smile is not perfect, but I am really quite satisfied with the overall result.  It took years to get this far, but I think a nice smile really goes a long way.  Nice smiles are timeless, they will never go out of style.  So I’d rather invest money in fixing my teeth rather than buying whichever Gucci bag is in this season.  Fads come and go, but a pretty smile will never go out of style!

****OLD POST, COPIED AND PASTED FROM OLD BLOG, JOLENEEEP.TUMBLR.COM

One thought on “OHWJ #1: Teeth Transformation

  1. Pingback: OHWJ #4: White and Bright | Smile!

Leave a Reply

